Apple Tree Dreams

The ramblings that appear when I'm driven to write what's in my head, rather than what's in someone else's.

An American Girl…

I don’t want a profile on Match.com, but if I did, this is what it would say.

“Well she’s got her God and she’s got good wine, Aretha Franklin and Patsy Cline…”

I’ll check cows, fix fence, straighten out a calf who’s determined to be born with his legs in the wrong spot, then (after thoroughly washing my hands) make an apple pie from scratch. I like the smell of branding smoke, rotting manure and lilacs in the spring.

However, I’m always ready for a shower when branding is over. I know how to eat like a lady, sit in a skirt and can carry on an intelligent conversation with nearly anyone.  I enjoy a fancy meal (or any meal I don’t have to cook and clean up. And those I do. I like food.). but most days my ideal supper is a steak on the grill and a man to share my day with (I’m not sharing my steak). I read good books and watch John Wayne movies, action/thrillers and chick flicks. I play in the creek and the snow–generally not at the same time–with my kids. I enjoy nearly anything more than doing laundry.

My brothers were determined that I wouldn’t be a sissy girl, and I think they succeeded.

I spend my work week as a copywriter and social media associate. I love my job. But when I walk away from work I want to kick off the high heels, leave the computer behind, and reconnect with the things that have always made me happy–sunshine, horsehair and dirt under my nails. I like to look like a girl and be treated like a lady, but when it gets down to the nitty-gritty I want a man who will treat me like his partner. I won’t settle for less.

Two demands:

1. Respect and honesty.

2. Love me, love my kids. It’s not difficult.

I’m not perfect, I make mistakes. But I laugh at them (eventually) and learn from them. I need a man who’s always laughing and learning. He should also be intelligent and funny and understanding and compassionate and kind and frugal (really?) and hard-working and open-minded and generous and thoughtful and considerate and goal-oriented and warm-hearted and, and, and…love his mother.

I want what my parents have, after 45 years. I want what my grandparents had. Not a fairy tale, but a love story.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2013 by .

Navigation

